On Thursday June 15, Hebrew Academy recognized the 2017 National Honor Society inductees in a small ceremony before family and friends.

The National Honor Society was established in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 1921. Hebrew Academy has been a member of the Rambam Chapter of the NHS for the past 10 years. Four main purposes have guided the organization from the beginning. According to its constitution, the purpose of the NHS is “to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools.” More than just an honour roll, NHS serves to honour those students who have demonstrated excellence in these four areas.

Mazal Tov to our 2017 National Honor Society inductees:

Ariella Abenhaim, Sarah Amar, Sarah Azoulay, Chagit Bender, Elie Benizri,
Joelle Cons, Sam Drazin, Kyle Fallenbaum, Leora Feld, Michael Kuperstok,
Sarah Moyal, Nathaniel Ouazana, Arielle Rohr, Malka Witt and Shalom Zobin!

Thank you to Head of School Dr. Kalman Stein for his welcome remarks, to President Shlomo Drazin for delivering an inspiring Dvar Torah, and to alumna and NHS member Danielle Rohr (’14), for reflecting on the significance of the award. Thank you to High School Principal and evening emcee Dr. Laura Segall for her address.

Very special thanks to Community Learning Centre Coordinator  and English Department Teacher Tia Ayrton for overseeing the entire process from application to induction of new members and for organizing the wonderful evening.

Please click here for the photo album courtesy of Rabbi Eddie Shostak.

Share This